Home Page Asanas Guidelines Aspects of Yoga Pranayama Affirmations Yoga Overview Raja Yoga Extra Gentle What's New


The Spine

The Spine Anatomy

Although technically a part of the skeletal system, even on a physical level the spine is the center of yogic anatomy, and therefore deserves special mention. In addition to simply supporting the head, the spine is a bony, protective canal for the spinal cord, the great central trunk line of nerves that issues out from the brain toward every part of the body (It's like the cable in "cable TV.")

Vertebrae, Discs and Nerves

The spine is made of a series of vertebrae, which are roughly cylindrical building blocks of bone, each with a bony "cage" on its posterior to protect the spinal cord as it runs the length of the spine. The shapes of the vertebrae vary depending on where they are located in the spine: cervical region, thoracic region or lumbar region.


The most prominent features of the "cage" behind the vertebral body are a spinous process (which sticks straight out behind you; the "bumps" on your back) and two transverse processes (which stick out to the side and slightly behind). In addition to helping protect the spinal cord, the processes are important attachment points for muscles and ligaments, as we'll soon see.


Each pair of vertebrae is separated by a small, but very important, shock-absorbing cushion called a disc. Discs are made of fibro cartilage, which means that they're firm, but will yield with pressure. The center of each disc is filled with a gel-like substance. (Image: The soles of some running shoes are made of two layers of tough rubber, with gel in-between for shock absorption. All movement of the spine occurs at these discs and is limited by two factors:

• The degree of firmness or squashiness of the discs.

• The ligaments that span the discs, and connect each vertebra with the vertebrae above and below it.


At each disc joint, the vertebrae can bend forward, backward and sideways; they also can rotate just a little bit. The overall movement of the spine is the sum of all these little movements. Such movements cause the gel to move within the discs: backward during a Forward bend, forward during a backward bend, and to one side when bending to the opposite side.


Young discs tend to be very squashy; their centers are almost fluid. However, discs tend to get thinner as we age, and if we do not exercise the disc joints adequately, the discs will dry out and shrink into hard little plates. In this condition they limit motion severely, and they can no longer serve as shock-absorbers for the vertebrae.


In addition to the disc joints between the bodies of the vertebrae, each pair of vertebrae also touch at two other points in the bony "cage" behind the body of the vertebrae. These points are called the facet joints, and it is these that your chiropractor adjusts. The facet joints have different configurations in the cervical, thoracic and lumbar regions of the spine (see below), resulting in different movement capabilities in each section.


A pair of nerves exit the spinal column between each pair of vertebrae at the level of the disc. One nerve exits to the left and one to the right, each through a hole called a spinal foramen. The top half of the hole is formed by a "cutout" area in the top vertebra, the bottom half by a cutout area in the bottom one. These nerves are the communication channels between the brain and every cell in the body, and we'll discuss them when we study the nervous system.


When two vertebrae are misaligned, their two spinal foramina may no longer be nice, rounded holes. The nerves may then be pinched where they exit the spinal cord. This hurts.

In fact, even just rounding the spine excessively can alter these holes and thus impinge upon the nerves. Nerves can also be impinged upon by slipped discs (i.e., discs that scoot backward and rest against a nerve), hen-dated discs (i.e., discs that abnormally bulge backward against a nerve), and ruptured discs (leaking gel;). You may sometimes hear "herniated" used to mean, "ruptured."

The Five Regions of the Spine

The spine consists of 26 pieces, which are usually divided into five sections or regions. From top to bottom, these are:

• Cervical spine 7 vertebrae. The skull rests on the topmost vertebra, called the atlas. The atlas and the second cervical vertebra (the axis) have special modifications to support the movements of the head. These vertebrae are usually referred to as C1 (or atlas, the top vertebra), C2 (or axis, the second vertebra), and so on down to C7, which is the bump you can feel at the base of your neck.

• Thoracic spine 12 vertebrae, usually referred to as T1 (top) through T12 (bottom). These are the vertebrae to which the ribs (thoracic cage) attach.

• Lumbar spine 5 vertebrae, usually referred to as LI (top) through L5 (bottom).

• Sacral spine, or sacrum 5 vertebrae that are fused into a single unit in adults.

• Coccyx (tailbone) 3 or 4 tiny vertebrae that are fused into a single unit at the base of the spine.



1997-2000 Ananda Church of Self-Realization



Student's Page | Home Page | Cautions/Guidelines | Key Aspects of Yoga | Yoga Overview | Raja Yoga | Extra Gentle | Beginners | Intermediate | Asana Index