Raja YogaHome PageHistory of YogaAshtangaNiyamaMeditation



Yama (Restrictions, Moral Restraints)

Non-Violence (ahimsa)
Obvious Sense: Never to harm or demean any living thing. Subtle Sense: Overcome tendency to wish harm in any way, e.g., judging others. Upon Mastery: All creatures become harmless in your presence.

Truthfulness (satya, which also means “truth”)
Obvious: Always be truthful; never say what isn’t so with intent to deceive. Subtle: Never wish things were different from what they are; absolute self-honesty; cling to highest truths. Upon Mastery: Whatever one says will come true.

Non-Stealing (ashteya)
Obvious: Don’t take that which is not yours; material things. Subtle: Never desire that which isn’t yours, even praise or status or love; never gossip (i.e., try to steal another’s good name); see everything as a part of your greater Self. Upon Mastery: Whatever you need comes to you when you need it.

Non-Sensuality (brahmacharya, lit. “flowing with Brahma”)
Obvious: Overindulgence in sense pleasures of all types. Subtle: Interiorizing the senses; learning to enjoy God in everything. Upon Mastery: Mental clarity and great physical strength; good health on all levels.

Non-Greed (aparigraha)
Obvious: Letting go of all attachments, even to things that are yours by right. Subtle: Non-attachment even to your own body and identity. Upon Mastery: Ability to remember former incarnations.


Raja Yoga | Student's Page | Home Page | History of Yoga | Ashtanga | Niyama | Meditation